HotDep: 9th Workshop on Hot Topics in Dependable Systems

HotDep '13 will bring forth cutting-edge research ideas spanning the domains of systems and fault tolerance/reliability, drawing from the two associated research communities (i.e., researchers who attend traditional "dependability" conference, and those who attend "systems" conferences). The workshop will build links between the two communities and serve as a forum for sharing ideas and challenges.

Checkout the CFP and website.

Contact Information

Please contact with any questions.

Important Dates

Paper submission deadline: July 19, 2013
Notification of acceptance: August 22, 2013
Camera ready: September 30, 2013
Workshop: November 3, 2013


  • Dependability in large-scale systems, despite either crash or Byzantine failures
  • Dependability in emerging platforms, such as handheld devices, datacenters, or cloud computing
  • Dependability in the software stack, including operating systems, network protocols, runtime systems, etc.
  • Fault and intrusion tolerance, self-healing systems, and continuous operation throughout recovery
  • Techniques for better detection, diagnosis, or recovery from failures
  • Forensic tools for use by administrators and programmers after failure or attack
  • Tools/concepts/techniques/metrics for quantifying or optimizing trade-offs among dependability, availability, performance, resource utilization, and security

Workshop Organizers

Program Co-Chairs

  • Christian Cachin, IBM Research Zurich
  • Robbert van Renesse, Cornell University

Program Committee

  • Marcos Aguilera, Microsoft Research Silicon Valley
  • Xavier Defago, Japan Advanced Institute of Science and Technology
  • Pascal Felber, University of Neuchatel
  • Michael Freedman, Princeton University
  • Andreas Haeberlen, University of Pennsylvania
  • Flavio Junqueira, Microsoft Research Cambridge
  • Bettina Kemme, McGill University
  • Mike Reiter, University of North Carolina
  • Thomas Ristenpart, University of Wisconsin
  • Luís Rodrigues, IST, INESC-ID, Technical University of Lisbon
  • Neeraj Suri, TU Darmstadt
  • Marko Vukolic, Eurécom
  • Ming Wu, Microsoft Research

  • Platinum Sponsors

    • The Murty
      Family Foundation
  • Gold Sponsors

    • Apple
  • Silver Sponsors

  • Bronze Sponsors